Tags

, , , ,

As if getting married and working long hours weren’t enough to keep me busy, I’ve decided to take on an OU course as well.  In my defence, I’ll be happily married in just over two weeks and the course doesn’t start until November… in the opposing corner, how on earth am I going to balance work, a new husband and studying?

I’m looking at it with a happy mix of trepidation and excitement.  I can’t believe that I’ve got to wait a whole month after the honeymoon to start my course!

So, I think at this point that it would be a good idea to write a little about myself.  I’m 27 and on September 19th I’m going to be marrying a wonderful man; tonight’s my second hen party, which just goes to tell you that I have fabulous friends.  I live in Reading and commute to London, where I’m a team leader for a media monitoring company.  I’m writing this post on my lunch!

I graduated Reading University in 2004 with a 3rd in Physics.  While, due to my circumstances at the time, it was real achievement for me to even pass my first degree, I’ve never been especially happy with how I did and I’ve been toying with the idea of getting a second degree from the OU for a while.

I’ve decided to aim for a degree in English Language and Literature, starting with the short course Y160 Making Sense of the Arts.

It took me a while to settle on my choice of degree.  I considered Religious Studies, Languages and Classical Studies before settling on English.  But once I realised that I’ve always enjoyed writing fiction and my job needs me to be able to write clear and concise commentary on the media, it was easy to settle on English Language and Literature.

Once I’d settled on a degree, the Y160 course was the obvious starter.  I needed to know that I would have enough time to study the higher point courses; also, being from a scientific background I wanted to ease myself into the Arts.

My aim is to improve my writing and analytical skills to help in both my work and personal writing; although my primary goal is to prove to myself that I can do it, and do it well.

Wish me luck!

