Tags

, ,

I attended the AA100 day school yesterday.  I have to admit that I really rather enjoyed it.  The first two sessions, the lecture on Christianity and Dissent and the poetry tutorial, were really good.  The Stalin lecture was okay, although I was a little put off by the tutorial feel of it at the start, although it was useful in that while I got the feeling that everyone else had learnt more than I had, they shared their knowledge and I took it all in.  The Pugin lecture had a lot of potential, but was disappointing as the lecturer had a sing-song/story-time method of delivery, which really didn’t work with the material; unfortunately I could see that what she was saying could have been interesting, but the delivery made me shut off – the few times that she went back to her normal speaking voice I perked up and started paying attention, only to drift off again when she went back into fairy tale mode.

It was interesting, however, to find out that we have a Pugin church in Reading (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_James%27_Church,_Reading) so I’m going to think about taking a look at it when I get onto the Pugin chapter.

I have this week off work, so I’m hoping to get ahead on my studies, maybe write TMA02 and it would be really nice if I could finish book one, there aren’t that may chapters left in the book, so it shouldn’t be too difficult.  I have to admit that it’s nice to think I have eight whole days where I don’t have to do any work-work 🙂

